The Cave, Finca & Cortijo Forum. Andalucia..

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Morbid Subject

+6
1940thom
Jenny
Imagemaker
space man
Cullarfamily
Gobiker56
10 posters

Go down

Morbid Subject Empty Morbid Subject

Post by Gobiker56 Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:41 am

I know it is a morbid subject but it affects all of us here in Spain. The cost of funerals is really high and re-patriation really expensive. There is an alternative. You can donate your body to science/anatomy (the website is [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] where you can get more info etc.). They will collect your body for free anywhere in Spain. You let everyone know what you are proposing and carry a card which has a 24 hour number on it. Not only saves a lot of money, it makes real good use of your remains by helping educate future doctors etc. Being a Nurse I have been to many anatomy classes where I know the remains have been treated with the utmost respect. I personally think it's nice that I could still be of some use after I've gone.
Gobiker56
Gobiker56

http://cuevaleon.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Morbid Subject Empty Re: Morbid Subject

Post by Cullarfamily Fri Sep 24, 2010 11:22 am

I also think that this is a nice idea, as long as you tell your loved ones that that is what you are proposing. On a slightly different note, I always held a Donor Card in the UK. Actually I still carry it out here. Does anybody know what the equivalent is in Spain? and how you can go about getting a similar donor card?

Cullarfamily

Back to top Go down

Post by space man Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:18 pm

Just a thought what happens to ''the bits'' when they have finished doing whatever to you. I quite like the idea in principle providing they make sure I'm dead and not suffering from the effects of alcohol. Spicey

space man

Back to top Go down

Post by space man Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:23 pm