The Cave, Finca & Cortijo Forum. Andalucia..

Hello to all at cave living

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hello to all at cave living

Post by Him & Her on Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:02 pm

Hello, we are new to your brilliant site and the whole idea of cave living. A friend of ours has just brought a lovely 3 bed cave house in Freila and introduced us to the idea, we have our first visit to Gelera and have booked a week in a cave house in June and can't wait, we will start the process of looking at villages and properties we have 2 small dogs and think we would prefer life inland to the coast as we love to walk and there seems so much to do and see. We hope to take early retirement in about 5 years but would like to buy before then and have holidays, settle and make friends before the big move. I am sure I will have lots of questions to ask, although just reading the postings some of my questions are getting answered already.

What advice could you please offer the complete newbies to cave living, what should we look for ? What should we avoid ? We must have some outside space not acres but a bit of space to grow a few veggies in raised beds, pots etc and for the dogs but can already see many houses only have a patio area, will this prove very difficult ? Are the caves damp? I have not seen any wardrobes in any details so far so where do you hang your clothes, I thought possibly you keep one bedroom as a dressing room? And how about the temperature is it really 18 - 22 all the time? Do you have to paint every year ? Sorry to ask so many questions and I am sure there will be many more. Thank you so much in advance we are so looking forward to our first trip out in June  Smile
Him & Her

Back to top Go down

Re: Hello to all at cave living

Post by Ken on Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:10 pm